ICN is led by a Steering Board consisting of representatives of all ten core members. The Steering Board is the responsible, decision-making body. The Steering Board also decides on memberships and services offered. The chairperson of the Steering Board is elected for a period of two years.

Dr med Christiane Blankenstein Director
Münchner Studienzentrum, Hospital rechts der Isar, Technical University of Munich
Associate Prof Dr Tsutomu Nishimura Institute for Advancement of Clinical and Translational Science, Kyoto University Hospital
Steering Board Members:
C. Michael Gibson (MD) President
Baim Institute for Clinical Research
Prof Dr Ian Wilkinson Director
Cambridge Clinical Trial Unit, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Dr phil Britta Lang Director
Clinical Trials Unit Freiburg, Albert-Ludwigs-University of Freiburg
Henry Yau Managing Director
Clinical Trials Centre, The University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Prof Dr Semra Demokan Director
Center of Excellence for Clinical Research, Istanbul University
Prof Dr Rongxing Gan President and CEO
Shanghai Clinical Research Center
Eugene Gan, PhD Senior Director
Singapore Clinical Research Institute
Dr med Regina Grossmann Head
Clinical Trials Center Zurich, University Hospital Zurich


The Steering Board may appoint suitable individuals to the Scientific Advisory Board on the recommendation of the Chair and the Vice chair. Scientific Advisory Board members would fulfil a senior advisory role to the ICN leadership and Steering Board. They may be invited to participate in ICN workgroups based on their expertise and interest, and may be invited to attend Steering Board meetings in a non-voting capacity. Scientific Advisory Board members should be former members of the ICN or of ICN member centres.

Professor Dr. med. Gabriela Senti Director, Research and Education, University Hospial Zurich
Founder of ICN
Former ICN Chairperson (2015-17)
Professor Muneo Takatani Senior Adviser, Office of Society-Academia Collaboration for Innovation, Kyoto University
Former ICN Steering Board Member
Dr Thomas Hiemstra Honorary Consultant Nephrologist, Cambridge Clinical Trials Unit, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Former ICN Chairperson (2019-20)
Prof Yagiz Uresin Head of Department of Medical Pharmacology, Istanbul Faculty of Medicine
Former ICN Chairperson (2017-19)


The ICN operates as much as possible on a decentralized basis. The Operations Team manages common operations and processes. Currently, ICN represents network without a legal entity. However, the Steering Board, as the highest decision making body of the ICN, will pursue adherence to agreed strategies, principles and standards. With the current informal legal status of ICN, there are no financial obligations of members to the ICN organization or its leadership. Payable services will be contracted and settled bilaterally between the providing and the consuming partners.

Dr Anja Eskat ICN Operations Team Lead
Annina Bauer ICN Operations Officer
Antonia Galliker ICN Operations Officer
Michelle Sonderer ICN Operations Officer
Cathy Shen ICN Operations Officer
Dana Lin ICN Operations Officer


2015-17 2017-19 2019-20 2020-22
Prof Dr. med. Gabriela Senti Prof Dr Yagiz Üresin Dr Thomas Hiemstra Henry Yau